FTSWebCover.png

During the months of June, July, and August, safeword welcomes artistic leaders from across the country to speak in a three-part series called Flip the Script! Summer Symposium Series. Each event will focus on different elements of storytelling that venture beyond assumptive, colonial paradigms and amplify practices that liberate the artistry of dramatic creation. All three events are FREE to attend and will be live streamed on our YouTube channel with an audience Q&A. Stay connected to all our social media platforms (Instagram, TikTok, Facebook) as we will be revealing each subsequent event over the coming months! 

#flipthescriptsafeword

This series is made possible through the support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

dramaturgyIG.png

Our first event in the series is Dramaturgy Now featuring guest speakers Taiwo Afolabi,

Sadie Berlin, Davey Samuel Calderon, and

Lindsay Lachance.

 

The practice of dramaturgy is rich with complexity but problematic when rooted in upholding dominant systems of power. Four artistic innovators share their own unique approaches to dramaturgy and explore the question: what is dramaturgy now?

 

Saturday, June 26th

12pm PDT / 1pm MDT / 2pm CDT

3pm EDT / 4pm ADT / 4:30pm NDT

FREE event

ASL Interpretation provided

497-200.png

Dramaturgy Now will be live streamed on YouTube at the link below:

Meet our Guest Speakers

taiwo.png
sadie.png
davey.png
lindsayWEB.png

Taiwo Afolabi

Taiwo Afolabi, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in the University of Regina's Theatre Department and representative for the ITI/UNESCO Network for Higher Education in the Performing Arts. He is an applied theatre practitioner-scholar working across a variety of creative and community contexts. His practice and research interests include research ethics, theatre and education, theatre and policing, decolonizing dramaturgy, and art leadership. He is the founding artistic director of Theatre Emissary International, Nigeria and a research associate at the University of Johannesburg, South Africa.

 

Sadie Berlin

Sadie Berlin is a published author, a writer of theatre texts, and a performance artist. In previous incarnations, she has been a legal anthropologist and ethnographer, an offshore finance journalist, and a literary buyer for a bookshop chain in London, U.K. In theatre, Berlin is known for her work on cultural dramaturgy. From 2019 to 2021, Berlin worked at The Lab of the Stratford Festival as a dramaturge and curator, and sometimes director and producer of digital projects. Berlin is an educator, activist and anti-racism consultant. Sadie has recently taken the role of artistic director of b current.

 

Davey Samuel Calderon

Davey Samuel Calderon is an emerging director, curator, writer, producer, drag artist, dramaturg and settler on the unceded territories of the coast salish peoples: Musqueam, Tsleil-Waututh, and the Squamish nations. He is the Co-Founder of New(to)Town Collective, an emerging theatre collective. Davey is the playwright for Big Queer Filipino Karaoke Night!  (2018 Vancouver Fringe Festival; reading at the 2020 Tales of the Flipside Festival), A Body of Constellations and the short film, RUN (2018 Vancouver Queer Film Festival). Currently, he is Playwrights Theatre Centre’s Dramaturg, Public Engagement, Resident Curator for 2021 rEvolver Festival (Upintheair Theatre), and dramaturg for MSG 2’s Before They Cut Down our Tree by Jenna Masuhara (vAct).

 

Lindsay Lachance

Lindsay Lachance (Algonquin Anishinabe) has worked as a dramaturg for over a decade and has a PhD from the department of theatre and film at the University of British Columbia. Lindsay’s dramaturgical practice is influenced by her relationship with birch bark biting and the Gatineau River. She is also the director of the Animikiig Creators Unit at Native Earth Performing Arts, which focuses on the development of new Indigenous works.

Our July event will be announced during our Dramaturgy Now event. Stay tuned!

Meet our Collaborators

Digital Producer Nicole Eun-Ju Bell

Nicole Eun-Ju Bell is a Toronto based mixed-race multidisciplinary artist with a passion for performance and technology.  She is fascinated with cyborgs and Loïe Fuller.  Among other things, she is a projection designer, actor, writer, and stage manager.  More recently, she has branched out into producing podcasts, delving into live-streaming, and experimenting in AR and VR.  She’s worked on shows with Theatre Passe Muraille, Canadian Stage, Hart House Theatre, Single Thread Theatre Company, as well as shows at Toronto Fringe, Next Stage, and SummerWorks.

nicole.png